Snatched Review

Maybe I’m getting old. It wasn’t that long ago that I could go into a raunchy comedy and enjoy what I was watching. There was no sex joke that was too perverted. No gross out scene was too extreme. Almost every pratfall, no matter how stupid, made me laugh. Every R-rated comedy I’ve seen over the years has made me laugh at least once, and its a run that has never been broken – until now.

STARRING: Amy Schumer; Goldie Hawn; Ike Barinholtz; Wanda Sykes

Emily Middleton (Schumer) is a thirty-something woman who can’t hold a job or keep a relationship together. When her musician boyfriend dumps her just before their trip to Ecuador, Emily decides to bring her homebody mother Linda (Hawn) with her on the trip. While there, it isn’t long before Emily hooks up with a sexy stranger and the women find themselves kidnapped by a gang of criminals. Escaping is easy, but staying safe is a whole other story.

Amy Schumer can actually be really funny, but I realize that she is somewhat of an acquired taste. Most of her jokes revolve around female anatomy [including the title of the movie — Ed], a topic that tends to be slightly off-putting to many people. Now imagine an entire 90 minute comedy where every single joke involves a woman’s private parts. Not only did I find the jokes unfunny, I found them cringe-worthy. Even the gross out scenes were just too much. This was a painful experience, and it was an hour and a half of my life I’ll never get back.

As bad as the movie is, what makes it worse is how wasted the rest of the cast is. Wanda Sykes is truly one of the funniest comedians on the planet, and here she is given very little to do (but she provides the only real laughs  in the movie). Christopher Meloni is given a completely throwaway role, and is gone before you even realize it is him. Worst of all is poor Goldie Hawn. Believe it or not, she hasn’t appeared on screen 15 years. Her first movie out of retirement, and it winds up being Snatched. The woman is a national treasure, and she deserves better than a thankless role which turns her into nothing more than a bored senior citizen.

The funny thing is, this isn’t the worst movie I’ve seen this year (CHiPS is about the worst thing ever), but it is a VERY close second. Maybe it’s not my age that is hurting my enjoyment of these types of movies, it’s just that I’m sick of movies that are straight up terrible.

FINAL REVIEW: D-

 

Leave a Reply

