I’ll admit, when the previews for Life first came out I had zero interest in seeing it. The original trailers made it look like Jake Gyllenhaal’s character was possessed by a recently discovered alien being. The final trailer changed my mind though, and showed what the movie was really about, and my desire to watch it quickly changed. So should I have followed my initial instinct to skip it, or did I make the right choice by checking it out?

alienThe basic premise is very simple, but effective. A skeleton crew of 6 astronauts are living on a space station, looking for signs of extraterrestrial life on Mars. They find a single cell organism among some soil samples, and try to nurture it and bring it back to earth. Of course, things don’t go as planned and the creature evolves a little too fast – and it gets nastier by the minute.

There are obviously many parallels between Life and the original Alien movie. A small crew up against a creature that is much smarter than expected. A very claustrophobic setting. The fact that you never know who’s gonna be the next to die. There is one key difference though. Alien was a truly frightening movie that still holds up today, while Life is devoid of any real scares or suspense.

Life isn’t a failure by any means, I just wish it wasn’t just another space survival movie. The cast is very good, the special effects are better than expected and I loved the ending. If the movie hasn’t been on your radar or it was one you were planning on skipping, it may be worth a look.

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal; Rebecca Ferguson; Ryan Reynolds

FINAL REVIEW: C+

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

